How can I turn someone gay? What can I say?

How can I turn someone gay? What can I say?  ‘We have no rights, everyone hates us.  Let’s unite! You can live in my little hell and listen to Madonna!” Jason Stewart, American actor, born 1959.
How can I turn someone gay? What can I say?
‘We have no rights, everyone hates us. Let’s unite! You can live in my little hell and listen to Madonna!” Jason Stewart, American actor, born 1959.

I’m only 16 years old.

Some people think I’m just a child, who can’t think for themselves. But I know more than many adults do. People are used to containing themselves within certain frames and they are scared to look out from them. If something doesn’t fit into the frame, then it’s ‘unacceptable’.

I want to share with everyone on this world something that a good person once told me: ‘Learn to look not just at details, but at the picture as a whole. Sometimes this picture continues past the frame.’ It’s a little bit abstract, but it’s easy to see the sense.

The Constitution of the Russian Federation is supposed to guarantee freedom of thought and expression, but we – LGBT people – aren’t allowed to talk about our sexual orientation and gender. Isn’t this a contradiction? Or do they not consider us to be people?

I’m a teenager. No one ever ‘propagandized’ homosexuality to me. I figured everything out by myself. I discovered it and found people who thought the same way. I’m sure that across the world there are millions of these kinds of teenagers. Of course, in Russia there are much fewer of them; but the environment around them has a large effect. They can end up withdrawing from the world or even committing suicide. And we can blame this on the laws, public opinion, fear and shame. Why do they have to scare us?

We shouldn’t have to be afraid. That’s my view. 

[P.S. This post is translated by a guest translator Daniel Colm. You can read his own blog on the topic of LGBT rights in Russia here.]

Leave a Reply

